Certified Teachers and The Certification Process

 

Using Yoga for Therapy

 The Certification Process:

Yoga for Osteoporosis  is required reading. Certification requires at least a 200 hour certification in yoga teaching, and 5 years’ experience.  A written and practical test is given at the end of the 20 hours. John Kepner, President of the International Association of Yoga Therapists has personally approved of the course, but there is currently no official approval process for “post graduate” courses such as this in the IAYT.

Just below the listing of certified teachers . The top grouping, of senior teachers are certified to teach both osteoporosis and lower back pain courses, but only those in bold can teach certifying courses to other teachers. We use the name ‘Registered’ for people who have passed the tests, but do not have 5 years’ experience at this point.  They will automatically graduate to certified status when they finish their fifth teaching year. They are in the last grouping.

Senior Teachers

Certified in Osteoporosis and Low Back Pain

First Name Last Name Email Phone Website
Cathy Lilly cathylilly@icloud.com 212.877.9415 New York NY
Ellen Saltonstall  ellensaltonstall.com/contact/ 212.727.7288 New York NY
Terry Schaff terry@schaffyogatherapy.com 845-235-6334 Rhinebeck NY
Cara Sekuler redyogini@aol.com New York New York NY
Caryna Wong caryna_wong@verizon.net 646.236.1082 Mount Kisco NY
Loren Fishman, MD loren@sciatica.org (212) 472-0077 New York NY

Osteoporosis Certified

Betty Aten bettymaten@gmail.com www.4thstreetyoga.com Berkeley CA
Shari Ser Cloudgate1@sbcglobal.net Berkeley Berkeley CA
Margie Cohea mcohea@comcast.net El Cerrito El Cerrito CA
Susan Kjesbo kjesbo@sbcglobal.net www.susankjesbo.com Laguna Niguel CA
Nicole Byrne nicolebyrneyoga@gmail.com Millbrae Millbrae CA
Ann Knighton Innes ann@knightonfamilyvineyards.com Napa Valley Napa Valley CA
Janie Falk Janie@NapaValleyYoga.net Napa/LaHaina Napa/LaHaina CA/HI
Sarah Harvey sarah.harvey510@gmail.com Oakland Oakland CA
Dana Davis dana@sonomabodybalance.com Petaluma Petaluma CA
Debi Robinson debi@debirobinson.com debi@debirobinson.com Rolling Hills Estates CA
Amelia Chang viacolusa2001@yahoo.com San Diego San Diego CA
Andra Denslow andrar108@yahoo.com Sierra Madre Sierra Madre CA
Karen Cryer Karencryer3@gmail.com Los Angeles Los Angeles CA
Kate Mitcheom Heartbasedmindfulness@gmail.com Heartbasedmindfulness@gmail.com Branford CT
Deborah Boggs blueberrygardens@verizon.net Washington Washington/Ashton  DE/MD
Ellyn Hutton ellynh@rcn.com ellynh@rcn.com Wilmington DE
Marion Robinson Marionrobinson 1961@gmail.com  Miami FL
Suzanne Joyce exesq1@gmail.com Naples Naples FL
Barbara Anton seapointyoga@gmail.com seapointyoga@gmail.com St. Petersburg FL
Betsey  Wilson   bwilson1960@msn.com Augusta GA
Elizabeth       Yates                                yogini2001@gmail.com Conyers GA
Mayuri Mulji mayuriyoga@gmail.com mayuriyoga@gmail.com Duluth GA
Janie Falk Janie@NapaValleyYoga.net LaHaina LaHaina HI
Michelle Soyer msoyer@dwx.com msoyer@dwx.com  Johnston IA
Sarah Westbrook theyogamap@gmail.com theyogamap@gmail.com Evanston IL
Debbie Belkin debbie.belkin@gmail.com debbie.belkin@gmail.com Northbrook IL
Beverlee Burke yoginibb@yahoo.com yoginibb@yahoo.com Dekalb IL
Gail Randel grace.randel@gmail.com grace.randel@gmail.com  Wilmette IL
Becky Paulin-Liston beckypaulinliston@gmail.com beckypaulinliston@gmail.com Evanston IL
Rakel Arditi rakel.arditi@gmail.com Tel Aviv Tal Aviv Israel
Sharon Friedman sfriedman55@gmail.com sfriedman55@gmail.com Leawood KS
Kelly Haas haaskelly@yahoo.com New Orleans New Orleans LA
Megan Bowles megan.e.bowles@gmail.com megan.e.bowles@gmail.com  Bethesda MD
Missy Wheeler missywheeler@msn.com Catonsville Catonsville MD
Bonnie Cassels bonniecassels@aol.com Laurel Laurel MD
Debbie Helfeld dhelfeld@starpower.net Silver Springs, Silver Springs,  MD
Sheree Mullen Sher_yogini@hotmail.com Silver Springs Silver Springs  MD
Carol Mermey cmermey@gmail.com Takoma Park Talkoma Park/Wash MD/DC
Helen Theodosiou htheodosiou@rcn.com Boston  MA
Linda Brunelle, MPH chickee@comcast.net Hadley  MA
Bhavani Lorraine Nelson bhavani@bhavanilorrainenelson.com bhavanilorrainenelson.com/ Lennox MA
Jackie Kerstner jaqkerst@hotmail.com Malden Malden  MA
Liz Hawkinson lizpower.873@gmail.com lizpower.873@gmail.com  St Peter MN
Julia Hough juliahoughyoga@gmail.com Weehawken Weehawken NJ
Harriet Harris harriet@culturalencounters.com Santa Fe Santa Fe NM
Patti Zolnick zolnick@gmail.com zolnick@gmail.com  Santa Fe NM
Gabriella Barnstone gabriella@homeyoganewyork.com homeyoganewyork.com New York NY
Louise Fecher louise@yogabright.com Tuckahoe Tuckahoe NY
Alice Hogan alice_hogan@icloud.com New York New York NY
Barbara Kaminski bkaminskyny@verizon.net Brooklyn Brooklyn NY
Sarah Knox sarahknox@mac.com Hastings-on-Hudson Hastings-on-Hudson  NY
Carol Potts carpotts@gmail.com Endwell Endwell  NY
Donna Phillips Donnalphillips@yahoo.com Greensboro NC
Mona Flynn lifefityoga@gmail.com Greensboro  NC
Annette Divyi     annette@yogapabriskeby.no Oslo  Oslo  Norway
Suganthi Giridharan suganthi.giridharan@gmail.com suganthi.giridharan@gmail.com Mason OH
Ava Koren avakoren@gmail.com avakoren@gmail.com Cincinnati/Johns Island OH/SC
Linda Jaeger LJGRALG@aol.com Tulsa Tulsa  OK
Terrie Powers trrbaypowers@gmail.com Portland Portland OR
Jeanne Rozanski, PT, MHA jrozanski@mercyhealth.org Havertown Havertown PA
Janne Roehm Janne@shri1life.com http://www.shri1life.com Middletown RI
Mei Lan Yee meilan72@singnet.com.sg Singapore Singapore
Lucinda Santos lucinda.santos@me.com lucinda.santos@me.com  Geneva Switzerland
Crystal Gray forthehealthofit@juno.com forthehealthofit@juno.com Johnson City TN
Becky Klett becky@dentonyogacenter.com becky@dentonyogacenter.com Denton TX
Margie Terrell marjoriet@aol.com Lucas Lucas  TX
Harriet Last lastjh@hotmail.com San Antonio San Antonio  TX
Susan Turnage, RN nursesusanyoga@gmail.com nursesusanyoga@gmail.com Lanexa VA
Sandra Reid slreid1@verizon.net 703-216-3701 Alexandria VA
Karen Buckner karen@gobuckner.com Bellingham Bellingham WA
Joanne Lee joanne@naturalcoach.com Olympia Olympia WA
Christy Fisher fisherac@aol.com Seattle Seattle  WA
Randy Boyd ranboyd@hotmail.com ranboyd@hotmail.com Edmond WV
Kathleen Davis kld0525@aol.com kld0525@aol.com Appleton WI
Laura Rooney laurajanerooney@gmail.com Milwaukee Milwaukee WI

Back Pain Certified

Pamela O’Brien pam@greenleafyogastudio.com Batavia Batavia IL
Gabriella Barnstone gabriella@homeyoganewyork.com www.homeyoganewyork.com New York NY
Elizabeth Dalton elizabeth.f.dalton@gmail.com New York  NY
Valerie Grunther vabasile@yahoo.com New York  NY

Registered Osteoporosis Teachers

Linda Ellis lk_47e@yahoo.com Birmingham Birmingham  AL
Vivienne Schwarcz fifimays@yahoo.com.au Victoria Victoria  Australia
Barbara Wood frauminator@gmail.com Glenndale Glenndale CA
Anna Davis aikianna@gmail.com Riverbank Riverbank  CA
Maggie Kampny megikay@yahoo.com Gainesville Gainesville  FL
Kathryn Gelb Yogigrandma2580@gmail.com 973-462-8904 Orlando FL
Johanna Sherlin jsherlin123@gmail.com San Rafael San Rafael CA
Tammy Ray tammy0918@gmail.com Louisville Louisville KY
Janet Henning janetkhenning@yahoo.com 989-621-1606 Mount Pleasant MI
Sue Simring sksimring@gmail.com Tenafly NJ/St.Barts
Kirith Chandrasekar kirthi@oasisbloom.com 972-523-9124 MASON OH
Sue Ehrensberger ehrenssb79@gmail.com Dayton Dayton OH
Patti Hamilton phamiltonrealestate@gmail.com 614-314-1630 COLUMBUS OH
Diane Thompson Dianethompson123@gmail.com Portland Portland  OR