Certified Teachers and The Certification Process

 

Using Yoga for Therapy

 The Certification Process:

Yoga for Osteoporosis  is required reading. Certification requires at least a 200 hour certification in yoga teaching, and 5 years experience.  A written and practical test is given at the end of the 20 hours. John Kepner, President of the International Association of Yoga Therapists has personally approved of the course, but there is currently no official approval process for “post graduate” courses such as this in the IAYT.

Just below the listing of certified teachers we name the people who have passed the tests, but do not have 5 years’ experience at this point.  They will automatically “graduate” to certified status when they finish their fifth teaching year.

 


 

Senior Teachers

Certified in Osteoporosis and Low Back Pain

First Name Last Name Email Phone Website City State
Cathy Lilly cathylilly@icloud.com 212.877.9415 New York NY
Ellen Saltonstall  ellensaltonstall.com/contact/ 212.727.7288 http://www.ellensaltonstall.com/ New York NY
Terry Schaff terry@schaffyogatherapy.com 845-235-6334 www.schaffyogatherapy.com Rhinebeck NY
Cara Sekuler redyogini@aol.com New York NY
Caryna Wong caryna_wong@verizon.net 646.236.1082 Mount Kisco NY
Loren Fishman, MD loren@sciatica.org (212) 472-0077 sciatica.org New York NY

Osteoporosis Certified

Betty Aten bettymaten@gmail.com Berkeley CA
Debi Robinson debi@debirobinson.com debi@debirobinson.com Rolling Hills Estates CA
Kate Mitcheom Heartbasedmindfulness@gmail.com Heartbasedmindfulness@gmail.com Branford CT
Ellyn Hutton ellynh@rcn.com ellynh@rcn.com Wilmington DE
Mayuri Mulji mayuriyoga@gmail.com mayuriyoga@gmail.com Duluth GA
Michelle Soyer msoyer@dwx.com msoyer@dwx.com  Johnston IA
Sarah Westbrook theyogamap@gmail.com theyogamap@gmail.com Evanston IL
Debbie Belkin debbie.belkin@gmail.com debbie.belkin@gmail.com Northbrook IL
Beverlee Burke yoginibb@yahoo.com yoginibb@yahoo.com Dekalb IL
Gail Randel grace.randel@gmail.com grace.randel@gmail.com  Wilmette IL
Sharon Friedman sfriedman55@gmail.com sfriedman55@gmail.com Leawood IL
Megan Bowles megan.e.bowles@gmail.com megan.e.bowles@gmail.com  Bethesda MD
Linda Brunelle, MPH chickee@comcast.net Hadley MA
Bhavani Lorraine Nelson bhavani@bhavanilorrainenelson.com bhavanilorrainenelson.com/ Lennox MA
Liz Hawkinson lizpower.873@gmail.com lizpower.873@gmail.com  St Peter MN
Patti Zolnick zolnick@gmail.com zolnick@gmail.com  Santa Fe, NM
Gabriella Barnstone gabriella@homeyoganewyork.com homeyoganewyork.com New York NY
Louise Fecher louise@yogabright.com Tuckahoe NY
Alice Hogan alice_hogan@icloud.com New York NY
Barbara Kaminski bkaminskyny@verizon.net Brooklyn NY
Sarah Knox sarahknox@mac.com Hastings-on-Hudson NY
Carol Potts carpotts@gmail.com Endwell NY
Annette Divyi     annette@yogapabriskeby.no Oslo Norway
Suganthi Giridharan suganthi.giridharan@gmail.com suganthi.giridharan@gmail.com Mason OH
Ava Koren avakoren@gmail.com avakoren@gmail.com  Cincinnati OH
Jeanne Rozanski, PT, MHA jrozanski@mercyhealth.org Havertown PA
Janne Roehm Janne@shri1life.com http://www.shri1life.com Middletown RI
Lucinda Santos lucinda.santos@me.com lucinda.santos@me.com  Geneva Switzerland
Crystal Gray forthehealthofit@juno.com forthehealthofit@juno.com Johnson City TN
Becky Klett becky@dentonyogacenter.com becky@dentonyogacenter.com Denton TX
Harriet Last lastjh@hotmail.com San Antonio TX
Randy Boyd ranboyd@hotmail.com ranboyd@hotmail.com Edmond WV
Kathleen Davis kld0525@aol.com kld0525@aol.com Appleton WI

Back Pain Certified

Pamela O’Brien pam@greenleafyogastudio.com Batavia IL
Gabriella Barnstone gabriella@homeyoganewyork.com www.homeyoganewyork.com New York NY
Elizabeth Dalton elizabeth.f.dalton@gmail.com New York NY
Valerie Grunther vabasile@yahoo.com New York NY

Registered Osteoporosis Teachers

Janet Henning janetkhenning@yahoo.com 989-621-1606 janetkhenning@yahoo.com Mount Pleasant MI