Osteoporosis

Osteoporosis

Bones are weakened to the breaking point by hereditary, hormonal, metabolic and nutritional factors. Exercise plays an inestimably large part in our bones’ strength and even their shape.  Although they are sometimes necessary, the medications have serious side-effects.  We recommend our yoga program, that can be done safely by even quite debilitated people. The peer-review published results of 741 patients followed over a 10 year period show that it improves bone mineral density in every-two-year follow-up studies.

Pilot Study:

http://journals.lww.com/topicsingeriatricrehabilitation/Fulltext/2009/07000/Yoga_for_Osteoporosis__A_Pilot_Study.9.aspx

Full Study:

http://journals.lww.com/topicsingeriatricrehabilitation/Citation/2016/04000/Twelve_Minute_Daily_Yoga_Regimen_Reverses.3.aspx#

 

The 12-minute DVD that now has been proven successful in our trial presents each of the 12 poses for 30 seconds, with instruction. We asked people to also obtain spine and hip X-rays before beginning the study, and after two years doing the yoga.  Not everyone did, but in more than 100,000 hours of people doing the DVD, 83% with osteoporosis, there are no detected or reported fractures to date. This program is effective in people of all ages, with or without osteopenia or osteoporosis.Slide2

The study showed significant improvement in bone mineral density in the spine and femur.  In 2 out of three measures, the hip was also significantly strengthened.  Here are the graphical representations of the improvements on two of the three statistical measures:

 

 

Many of these poses are excerpted from our books, Yoga for Arthritis, WW Norton 2008, andYoga for Osteoporosis W.W. Norton, Published 2009. Many of the poses and adaptations here reflect the work of B.K.S. Iyengar and John Friend. They would not be here but for the generous and creative work of co-author Ellen Saltonstall, and the yogi-models Sally Hess, Nikki Marshall, and Eric Small.

I thank Ellen Saltonstall, RYT a certified Anusara Yoga instructor, for her consultation on this project, and her permission to use selected photos and instructions from our co-authored books, Yoga for Arthritis and Yoga for Osteoporosis. Ellen has been teaching yoga for over 20 years, with a specialty in therapeutics. She teaches and trains other teachers in New York City as well as nationally and internationally.

                                                                                                                                                        We compared the change in bone mineral density measured in the two years prior to beginning the yoga on the DVD with the same change in the two years after beginning the DVD.  Note that the average values prior to starting the study were all negative, and the average values after two years of yoga were all positive.  The DVD may be purchased through PayPal on the home page of this website.

The content of the DVD is streaming at

 

Detailed comparison: Before starting yoga (dark grey) vs. after two years practicing the 12-minute DVD daily(light grey):

Slide1

 

The  study shows that the yoga in the DVD, done daily for two years, actually builds bone significantly in the spine and the femur, the two most frequent sites of fracture.  We are now beginning a second “dose – response” study, matching how often and how vigorously one does the yoga with the amount their bones have strengthened.  In this study people will go to a yoga teacher certified in our method at least once each two weeks to grade the quantity and quality of their yoga.  After two years we will again compare the amount and quality of yoga with the gains in bone mineral density.  We are conducting additional trainings this year, but at present if none of the certified teachers are accessible to you, the study is also feasible through Skype. The teachers are listed by state.

Below the list of certified teachers are teachers who have taken the course, passed the tests, but do not have five years of teaching experience at this point. Their names will be added to the certified teachers’ list the moment their fifth year of teaching is completed.

   

Senior Teachers

 

Certified in Osteoporosis and Low Back Pain

   
First Name Last Name Email Phone Website City State
Cathy Lilly cathylilly@icloud.com 212.877.9415 New York NY
Ellen Saltonstall  ellensaltonstall.com/contact/ 212.727.7288 http://www.ellensaltonstall.com/ New York NY
Terry Schaff terry@schaffyogatherapy.com 845-235-6334 www.schaffyogatherapy.com Rhinebeck NY
Cara Sekuler redyogini@aol.com New York NY
Caryna Wong caryna_wong@verizon.net 646.236.1082 Mount Kisco NY
Loren Fishman, MD loren@sciatica.org (212) 472-0077 sciatica.org New York NY

Osteoporosis Certified

Betty Aten bettymaten@gmail.com Berkeley CA
Susan Kjesbo
kjesbo@sbcglobal.net
www.susankjesbo.com Laguna Niguel CA
Debi Robinson debi@debirobinson.com debi@debirobinson.com Rolling Hills Estates CA
Kate Mitcheom Heartbasedmindfulness@gmail.com Heartbasedmindfulness@gmail.com Branford CT
Ellyn Hutton ellynh@rcn.com ellynh@rcn.com Wilmington DE
Mayuri Mulji mayuriyoga@gmail.com mayuriyoga@gmail.com Duluth GA
Michelle Soyer msoyer@dwx.com msoyer@dwx.com  Johnston IA
Sarah Westbrook theyogamap@gmail.com theyogamap@gmail.com Evanston IL
Debbie Belkin debbie.belkin@gmail.com debbie.belkin@gmail.com Northbrook IL
Beverlee Burke yoginibb@yahoo.com yoginibb@yahoo.com Dekalb IL
Gail Randel grace.randel@gmail.com grace.randel@gmail.com  Wilmette IL
Sharon Friedman sfriedman55@gmail.com sfriedman55@gmail.com Leawood IL
Becky Paulin-Liston beckypaulinliston@gmail.com beckypaulinliston@gmail.com Evanston IL
Megan Bowles megan.e.bowles@gmail.com megan.e.bowles@gmail.com  Bethesda MD
Linda Brunelle, MPH chickee@comcast.net Hadley MA
Bhavani Lorraine Nelson bhavani@bhavanilorrainenelson.com bhavanilorrainenelson.com/ Lennox MA
Liz Hawkinson lizpower.873@gmail.com lizpower.873@gmail.com  St Peter MN
Patti Zolnick zolnick@gmail.com zolnick@gmail.com  Santa Fe, NM
Gabriella Barnstone gabriella@homeyoganewyork.com homeyoganewyork.com New York NY
Louise Fecher louise@yogabright.com Tuckahoe NY
Alice Hogan alice_hogan@icloud.com New York NY
Barbara Kaminski bkaminskyny@verizon.net Brooklyn NY
Sarah Knox sarahknox@mac.com Hastings-on-Hudson NY
Carol Potts carpotts@gmail.com Endwell NY
Annette Divyi     annette@yogapabriskeby.no Oslo Norway
Suganthi Giridharan suganthi.giridharan@gmail.com suganthi.giridharan@gmail.com Mason OH
Ava Koren avakoren@gmail.com avakoren@gmail.com  Cincinnati OH
Jeanne Rozanski, PT, MHA jrozanski@mercyhealth.org Havertown PA
Janne Roehm Janne@shri1life.com http://www.shri1life.com Middletown RI
Lucinda Santos lucinda.santos@me.com lucinda.santos@me.com  Geneva Switzerland
Crystal Gray forthehealthofit@juno.com forthehealthofit@juno.com Johnson City TN
Becky Klett becky@dentonyogacenter.com becky@dentonyogacenter.com Denton TX
Harriet Last lastjh@hotmail.com San Antonio TX
Randy Boyd ranboyd@hotmail.com ranboyd@hotmail.com Edmond WV
Kathleen Davis kld0525@aol.com kld0525@aol.com Appleton WI

Back Pain Certified

Pamela O’Brien pam@greenleafyogastudio.com Batavia IL
Gabriella Barnstone gabriella@homeyoganewyork.com www.homeyoganewyork.com New York NY
Elizabeth Dalton elizabeth.f.dalton@gmail.com New York NY
Valerie Grunther

vabasile@yahoo.com

 

 

New York

NY

 

 

Registered Osteoporosis Teachers

Kathryn Gelb Yogigrandma2580@gmail.com 973-462-8904 Orlando FL
Tammy Ray tammy0918@gmail.com Louisville KY
Janet Henning janetkhenning@yahoo.com 989-621-1606 janetkhenning@yahoo.com Mount Pleasant MI
Sue Simring sksimring@gmail.com Tenafly NJ
Kirith Chandrasekar kirthi@oasisbloom.com 972-523-9124 MASON OH
Sue Ehrensberger ehrenssb79@gmail.com Dayton OH
Patti Hamilton phamiltonrealestate@gmail.com 614-314-1630 COLUMBUS OH

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *